Small text iconNormal text iconLarge text icon

INTERACTION

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MembersMembers   GroupsGroups   RegisterRegister 
 User Control PanelUser Control Panel      LoginLogin 


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Webinars
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 3:11 pm
Posts: 2122
Location: Cheshire, UK
I suppose that in essence this is an online talk/lecture by an author but it is called a webinar so it may also be an online seminar. Organised by The Institute of Physics and free to join but you have to register.

Quote:
The Eerie Silence: Are We Alone in the Universe?

Wednesday, March 31, 2010, 4:00 PM BST (5.00 PM CEST / 11.00 AM EDT)

For 50 years, astronomers have been sweeping the skies with radio telescopes in the hope of stumbling across a message from an alien civilization. So far, they have been greeted by an eerie silence. So are we alone in the universe after all, or might the scientists be looking for the wrong thing in the wrong place at the wrong time? Paul Davies calls for the search to be widened to include any signatures of intelligence, and examines several ways in which alien technology might have left subtle footprints in the universe.


Speaker is Paul Davies Director of BEYOND: Center for Fundamental Concepts in Science at Arizona State University, US and author of 'The Eerie Silence'


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group